National Intercentre Teams named

02 Mar 2018

The Bowls New Zealand National Intercentre Competition returns to Christchurch this year with the Canterbury Men's team ready to retain the National competitions title again. 

The four day event, begins on Thursday 22 March and will be hosted by seven clubs around Canterbury; Papanui Club, Parklands, Fendalton, Morrison Ave, Bowls Hornby, Bowls Papanui as well as the Centre Green and Burnside Bowling Club which is the event headquarters. 

The Canterbury selectors have named their teams and the men's team remains unchanged from last years winning team. Gary Lawson skips the pairs and has said  " the boys are looking forward to the challenge of defending their victory from last year. Not actually going out to defend to going out to win it!" A challenge that the home crowd would love to see no doubt. 

The women's team have been selected based on recent performances on the greens, with most of the girls recently winning Canterbury Centre titles. Canterbury Selector, Raelene Peters said she was "grateful for Bowls NZ pushing back their Commonwealth Games camp to allow availability for Mandy Boyd", who will compete at the Intercentre and then the next day travel to Australia in preparation for the Commonwealth games. Raelene also mentioned, "it was good to see Adele Greenfield back after a break from rep competitions, through her results it is clear that she has deserved her position in the side". 

Whilst having a home advantage, both teams have opted to stay in camp during the event. Bowls Canterbury CEO Mel Mather, said she is very happy with both selected teams. "Canterbury has a strong proud history at the National Intercentre in both the Men's and Women's divisions, I look forward to seeing what this years Canterbury teams can do on our home greens!" Mather said. 

The full Canterbury teams are as follows: 

Canterbury Men's Team

Singles: Andrew Kelly

Pairs: Gary Lawson (S) and Stephen Ditfort

Fours: Lance Pascoe (S), Kelvin Scott, Nathan Glasson and Richard Hocking

Reserve: Paul Matheson

Coaching staff: Darryl Hawker and Ron Matheson

Canterbury Women's Team

Singles: Sandra Keith

Pairs: Adele Greenfield (S) and Sherrie Cottle

Fours: Mandy Boyd (S), Julie Adams, Tessa Hocking and Angela Boyd

Reserve: Nicky Reed 

Coaching Staff: Raelene Peters and Roger Munro

Further event information can be found by clicking here

2017 Winning National Intercentre Team - Canterbury. (L-R). Stephen Ditfort, Gary Lawson, Andrew Kelly, Richard Hocking, Nathan Glasson, Kelvin Scott. Lance Pascoe. The team for 2018 remains unchanged. 

Our Sponsors and Funders