Representative Season Underway

06 Oct 2017

The representative season gets underway with all sides playing tomorrow (Saturday 7th October).

The Auckland Open Men and Women play North Harbour in the annual Battle of the Bridge.  This year the fixture will be played at New Lynn under the cover.  Two rounds will be played and the coaches will be free to rearrange the teams as they like for the second game.  Singles, Pairs and two Fours games will be played each round. 

The men’s squad has an eye to the future with several players making their debut as they build towards the National Intercentre later in the season.  The women’s squad has most players returning from last season, with plenty of experience on show.

The 1 – 8 Year Men and Women travel north to Maungaturoto Bowling Club where they will play North Harbour and Northland.  Unfortunately, Far North were a late withdrawal so there will be a bye in the first round for Auckland.  Again, the coaches have the freedom to switch players around with singles, pairs, triples and fours to be played.

The 1 – 5 Year sides are a bit closer to home with a trip to Hobsonville.  They also play North Harbour and Northland with the same Conditions of Play as the 1 – 8 Year sides.

All games begin at 9.30am so if you are in the area then please get along and support the Auckland Sides!  Go Auckland!

Open Women:

Anne Bateman; Catherine Bien; Helen Blick; Hetty Bolscher; Clara Bowman; Karen Hema; Estelle Hickey; Kirsty Hill; Doreen Jensen; Aggie Motu; Alison Rennie. Selector Coach: Jill Fraser. Manager: Alison Rennie.

Open Men:

Scott Cottrell; Ray Skogland; Scott Harrison; Mike Bradshaw; Teo Turua; Jerry King; Andy Ellis; Aiden Takarua; Steve Hoeft; Luka Mataora; Phil Taylor.  Reserve: James Williams.  Selector Coach:  Brett O’Riley; Petar Sain.  Manager:  Peter Blick.

1 – 8 Year Women:

Jamie Chen; Gail Clark; Marianne Coldham; Lesley McLinden; Maroi Pereeti; Ling Qu; July Raill; Joyce Rugg; Jenny Stockford; Claire Tawharu. Selector Coach: Diana Smith. Manager: Deborah Garside.

1 – 8 Year Men:

Phil Aitken; Allan Blackman; Artem Chesnokov; Andy Dawson; Nathan Duckmanton; Keith Earl; Ben; Panapa; Liam Peeters; Vincent Pittman; Alex Reed; Utu Vave. Selector Coach: Grant Hema. Manager: Willis Wichman.

1 – 5 Year Women:

Carol Berry; Chelsea Farley; Diane Klomp; Jane Field; Karen Kuzimski; Linda Farley; Natasha Raill; Chris Staples; Rachael Hancock; Sheila Putu; Tessa Farley; Titia Ryder.  Selector Coach: Paul Stier. Manager: Chris Pegg.

1 – 5 Year Men:

Kevin Beasley; David Ball; Richard Siefert; Pat Curtis; Robert Shepherd; Richard Salter; John Lambarth; Mamae Taurua; Jeremy Reynolds; Mark Compton. Reserves: Mark Posa; Adrian Nancekivell.  Selector Coach: Esther Eu.  Manager: Carol Pollock.

Our Sponsors and Funders