Maori Bowls Weekend a Great Success

10 Feb 2017

Perfect conditions, great organisation, fantastic food, awesome hosting clubs and great comradery all saw last weekend's Aotearoa Maori Bowls Nationals be a tournament to remember.

Saturday saw section play at Papakura, Hunua, East Tamaki, Mangere and Onehunga & Districts Bowling Clubs. Competition was very close with only narrow margins separating most teams. The top 16 teams qualified to play the Championship round at Papakura on Sunday, and the remainder of the field qualified into two Flight sections on Sunday, also culminating in a Final at Papakura.

In the Men's Championship it was Taranaki providing the highlight, qualifying two teams into the final, culminating in a close win to the Albie Waitere skipped four.

For the Women, Paula Meredith's team from Whanganui A Tara (Wellington) made it two in a row, successfully defending their title win last year in Wainuiomata.

The finals were played under sparkling blue skies with high class bowling thrilling the large crowd gathered for the conclusion. Aotearoa Bowls Board President Barry Aspin said the board was thrilled with the job done by the hosting Rohe Tamaki Makaurau, and he has received great feedback from players and spectators alike on the tournament hosting clubs and organisers. We look forward now to next year when Te Arawa and the Rotorua Bowling Club host the 2018 edition


Semi Final 1 - Albie Waitere, Joe Rona, Tobyn Hori, Laurence Hori (Taranaki) def. Delaine Berryman, Tony Parkinson, Hopa Bell, Merv Gibbons (Waikato)
Semi Final 2 - David Nganeko, Kevan Sellars, Lee Winterburn, John Ape-esera (Taranaki) def. Pat Curtis, Mike Ngatai, David Ball, Albert Ale (Rangitane Kahungunu)
Final - Albie Waitere def. David Nganeko
Flight 1 Winners -  Gary Taiaroa, Clayton Hockley, Peter Blucher, Ross Monteith (Tamaki Makaurau)
Flight 2 Winners - Jack Waikawa, Peter Blick, Gene Wickliffe, Morgan Soloman (Tamaki Makaurau)


Semi Final 1 -Denise Samuel, Reen Stratford, Debbie Pakinga, Lisa Helming (Tamaki Makaurau) def. Doreen Jensen, Lillian Tukiri, Rebecca Jelley, Mackenzie Blucher (Tamaki Makaurau)
Semi Final 2 - Paula Meredith, Kay Carr, Janet Nehemiah, Lil George (Whanganui A Tara) def. Emma Waerehu, Moana Stainton, Lesley McLinden, Christine Sibley (Tamaki Makaurau)
Final - Paula Meredith def. Denise Samuel.
Flight 1 Winners - Maria Smith, Aggie Motu, Moana Daniela, Judy Tihi (Tamaki Makaurau)
Flight 2 Winners - Dayvinia Mills, Marilyn Gutschlag, Peggy Maurirere, Carol Bartlett (Tairawhiti)

Our Sponsors and Funders