Great times at Onehunga

20 Jun 2016

This past Sunday saw the Auckland Bowls Annual Awards Luncheon at the Onehunga Bowling Club. It was a chilly morning, but by the time the 200 plus attendees began to arrive it had turned into an amazing day. Thanks to the folks at Onehunga for a great venue and their help and hospitality setting-up, and on the day.

It was great to see so many clubs there supporting not only their winners, but also other members of the bowling fraternity. Pt Chevalier came prepared with party poppers and clappers making for a great atmosphere to celebrate the champions.

Our photographer was there to capture the day and when ready we will be publishing a link to a site where these can be downloaded.

The Special Awards again produced some exceptional nominees, making it a truly tough job for the judging panel to pick the winners, they are as follows:

Administrator of the Year

Nominees:Jenny Jones (Pt Chevalier), Marissa Gough (Onehunga & Districts), Terry O'Connor (Carlton Cornwall), Gay Dawson (Blockhouse Bay), Ray Rollo (Mangere)

Winner: Terry O'Connor (Carlton Cornwall)

Personality of the Year

Nominees: Fleming Andersen, Ken McIntyre, Gary Finnemore - The Uniform and Flag Group (Howick), Nick Krajancic (Carlton Cornwall), Ben Wi (Mangere), Jacqui Neville (Piha), Gary Breckon (Auckland BC)

Winner: Nick Krajancic (Carlton Cornwall),

Official of the Year

Nominees: Joy Baughan (Howick Women's), Les Smith (Mangere), Auckland Bowls Umpires Association

Winner: Joy Baughan (Howick Women's)

Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Matt Pirie (Howick), Ash Hobbs (Pt Chevalier), Clara Bowman (Carlton Cornwall), Neville Marshall (New Lynn), Maureen Rollo (Mangere)

Winner: Neville Marshall (New Lynn)

Coach of the Year

Nominees: Paul Stier (Glen Eden), Harry Williams (Howick), Esther Eu  (Hillsboro Women's), Howard Sandler (Auckland BC), Russell and Sandra Hocking (Carlton Cornwall)

Joint Winners: Paul Stier (Glen Eden), Esther Eu (Hillsboro Women's)

Young Bowler of the Year 

Nominees: Aiden Takarua (Pt Chevalier), Mackenzie Blucher (Te Atatu Peninsula), Selena Goddard (Carlton Cornwall), Paris Baker (Te Atatu Peninsula), Laura Tauniva (Waiheke)

Winner: Mackenzie Blucher (Te Atatu Peninsula)

Team of the Year

Winner: Auckland Men's Open Representative Side

Club of the Year

Nominees: Howick Bowling Club, Pt Chevalier Bowling Club; Carlton Cornwall Bowls; Mangere Bowling Club, East Tamaki Bowling Club

Winner: Howick Bowling Club

Interclub Club of the Year

Winner: Glen Eden Bowling Club

Congratulation to all the nominees and winners!

Our Sponsors and Funders