Auckland National Champions!

03 Apr 2016

The Auckland Men's representative side has won the National Intercentre for the second time in five years defeating Canterbury in the final at Howick earlier today.

Scott Cottrell played outstanding draw bowls to win the singles 25 - 8 to get the side off to a winning start.  On the next rink it was equally well played by the experienced Pairs combination of Rob Ashton and Petar Sain who won 24 - 10.  The fours team of Jordan King, Monte Pawa, Dan Delany and Richard Girvan were in the midst of a tight battle with Canterbury but having secured the two wins required the teams shook hands with the score at 10-9 to Auckland.

Earlier in the day Auckland accounted for Southland in the semi final with a 21-7, 18-3, 15-14 triumph.  All the players played great bowls from the first round on Friday morning.  The emerged as Section winners and were drawn against South Otago in the quarterfinal who coincidentally played in the same section finishing second.

Congratulations to the players and management of Petar Sain, Chris Salesa and Jack Waikawa. A great victory!

The Auckland Women also had a very good tournament losing in a very tight quarterfinal to eventual winners Northland.  This fixture came down to the fours after the singles and pairs were split.  At 14-9 down with 3 ends to play the team of Selina Goddard, Rebecca Jelley, Jeanette Scarrott and Alison Rennie played some excellent bowls to force the game into an extra end.  They then held the game winning shot with Maureen Parker of Northland holding the final bowl in her hand.  But it wasn't to be as she drew the shot to take the win.

Northland progressed through to the final where they beat Nelson.  Congratulations to Northland!

Thanks to Howick, Pakuranga, Mangere, St George, Hillsboro, Carlton Cornwall and Mt Eden for hosting the event over the past four days.  A special thanks to all the volunteers at all the clubs and to the many people that came out to watch the finals.

For a full rundown of the event CLICK HERE.

Our Sponsors and Funders