Big Clashes and Big Travel to World Singles Qualifiers

23 Jul 2015

There are several big matches worth watching around the country in this weekend’s NZ Professional Bowls Association draws as players battle to qualify for the NZ Finals play-offs to represent the country in the World Indoor Singles in England next January.

Many of the top ranked players will have their work cut out making it through the initial rounds with feature matches including the all-Auckland clash of Rob Ashton and Steve Hoeft at the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, and four intriguing match-ups at the Heretaunga Club in Hastings with Australian champ Murray Glassey (Hawkes Bay) against Terry Johnson (Manawatu), Dean Drummond (Hawkes Bay) playing Scott Roddick (Wellington), Wellington pairs partners Laurie Guy versus Richard Corry, and top women’s clash of Dale Rayner and Tanya Wheeler.

The Auckland branch welcomes a new member recently arrived from Scotland in Sharon McGeough to Pukekohe; and the Paritutu Club in New Plymouth features visitors from the Waikato (Graham Fitzpatrick) and Southland (Hugh Andrews).

Dunedin’s Westpac Community Bowls Stadium will host plenty of top matches starting at 6pm on Friday night with NZ number one Ken Walker up against Aidan Lusby, and another all-Dunedin clash in Ross Munro and Lou Robinson. On Saturday afternoon two Southland visitors Maree Jones and Sheldon Bagrie-Howley face off, while the defending World Singles NZ champion Andy McLean takes on the fast rising threat of Raymond Webster. Feature matches at the Waverley Club in Invercargill are Glen Milne against Aaron Tribe, and Jason Heffer versus Bruce Ross.


The PBA season resumes this weekend with qualifiers for the World Indoor Singles.

(Race to Oz rank) Player v (Race to Oz rank) Player [PBA singles career head-to-head]

Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Auckland:

Ranking Singles:
Sat 25th July 1st round: (61=)Garry Banks v (182=)Norm Scott-Morrison; (169=)Louisa Kent v (5)Rob Ashton; (118=)Karen Hema v (debut)Bryan Duffin.
2nd round: (33)Steve Hoeft v winner Hema/Duffin; (169=)Simon Reesby v (14=)Natarsha Grimshaw; (168)Graham Skellern v (169=)Adrienne Tilyard; (145=)Jack Green v (71=)Linda Ralph; (debut)Sharon McGeough v (145=)John Inkster; (97=)Bart Robinson v (154=)Gayle Melrose; (61=)Gail Dick v (182=)Mathew Watson.

World Indoor Singles Qualifier:
Sun 26th July 1st round: (14=)Natarsha Grimshaw v (145=)John Inkster; (182=)Mathew Watson v (debut)Sharon McGeough; (71=)Linda Ralph v (97=)Bart Robinson; (182=)Norm Scott-Morrison v (118=)Karen Hema.
2nd round: (145=)Jack Green v (61=)Garry Banks; (169=)Simon Reesby v (169=)Louisa Kent; (61=)Gail Dick v (168)Graham Skellern; (169=)Adrienne Tilyard v (118=)Stephen Zino; (154=)Gayle Melrose v (debut)Bryan Duffin; (5)Rob Ashton v (33)Steve Hoeft.

Our Sponsors and Funders