Auckland Bowls 2015 Awards - Your Nominees

13 May 2015

It's time to celebrate bowls in Auckland. The following nominations have been received for the Special Awards as part of the 2015 Auckland Bowls Awards Function.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Function (details below) to be held on Sunday 14th June.

Thank you to those that made the effort to submit nominations and congratulations to the following for the great work you do for our sport:

Administrator of the Year

Con Cambie (St Heliers); Esther Dass (Oratia); Jenny Jones (Pt Chevalier)

Official of the Year

Bill Day (Howick); Sheryl Johnson (Carlton Cornwall); Joy Baughan (Howick Women’s); Les Smith (Mangere); Jeanette Sinclair (Carlton Cornwall)

Personality of the Year

Fleming Andersen (Howick); Ken McIntyre (Howick); Gary Finnemore (Howick); Ian McKenna  (Pt Chevalier); Tony Borich (Oratia)

Coach of the Year

Paul Stier (Glen Eden); Harry Williams (Howick); Diana Smith (Blockhouse Bay); Howard Sandler (Auckland)

Volunteer of the Year

Norman Watson (St George Bowls); Matt Pirie (Howick); Ash Hobbs (Pt Chevalier); Shirley Upton (Pakuranga); Marina Green (Carlton Cornwall); Gerry Guy (Henderson)

Young Bowler of the Year

Aiden Takarua (Pt Chevalier); Alzeena Levi (Te Atatu Peninsula/Otahuhu Railway); Rory Soden (Glen Eden)

Team of the Year

Auckland Men’s 1-8 Year Representative Side; Auckland Women’s 1-8 Year Representative Side; Rob Ashton and Petar Sain (Carlton Cornwall); Mike Galloway, Martin Dixon, Gavin Brown (Hillsboro); Petar Sain, Vladimir Marsic, John Collins, Tony Garelja (Carlton Cornwall); Karen de Jongh, Bev Crowe, Liz Badenhorst, Helen Van der Walt (Carlton Cornwall); Onehunga Men’s National Interclub Division One Side.

Club of the Year

Howick Bowls; Pt Chevalier Bowling Club; Carlton Cornwall Bowls; Oratia Bowling Club; Glen Eden Bowling Club

So, come on along to the Maritime Room on Auckland's beautiful waterfront and be part of this year's awards!

Where: The Maritime Room, 175 Viaduct Harbour, Auckland City
When: Sunday 14th June 2015
Time: 11:30am for a 12pm start
Dress: Smart Casual

Ticket includes free entry to the Maritime Museum. Tickets $45 per person or $400 for a table of ten. See your club secretary to secure your ticket! Contact Kristina on 623 3555 or email

Our Sponsors and Funders