National Intercentre

30 Mar 2015

Article Courtsy of Bowls NZ

A great festive atmosphere has been in

evidence today for the final round of the National Intercentre.

The weather cleared after the semi-finals and the crowd of close to 500 were treated to some tight heads and inspirational bowling.

Taranaki’s Dean Elgar took the singles early having caught the slight Marlborough advantage by the seventh end and cruising to a comfortable 25-9 win.

The Taranaki pairs of Scott Roberts and Cameron Nairne also held their end up throughout the game against Josh Boyd and Warren Brown. A slight glitch in the tenth – twelfth ends where five shots were dropped brought the Marlborough pair tantalizingly close but Taranaki made amends picking up a four and the final score was 19-13 to Taranaki.

The Marlborough Fours crept slowly upwards in their game and the majority of the game was all for Marlborough. However once the pairs and singles had been decided the fours game was concluded at the 12th end with a score of 12-10 to Marlborough.

Both of the women’s finalist sides are littered with former and current blackjacks so it was always going to be a great final.

Jo Edwards scored the first game for Nelson by beating youngster Tayla Bruce 25-12. It was not a case of Bruce playing badly but rather of Edwards playing consistently tight bowls.

Canterbury were all over Nelson in the pairs game reaching 20-8 before Nelson started their fight back. A five on the final end closed the gap to 21-18 but it was too little too late for Nelson.

Canterbury wrapped up the rubber with the fours as well coming from behind to take the game 17-11. At 9-4 down it looked like this would be Nelson’s game but the gutsy performance form the Canterbury Fours stole the show from last year’s winners.

The win has also given Sandra Keith her silver star for five National Championships titles and this was presented by Ann Muir at the prize giving. Keith paid tribute to her team as her five titles were all team events.

Congratulations to this year’s winners Taranaki and Canterbury and to Sandra Keith on her silver star attainment.

Our Sponsors and Funders