Tamaki Makaurau Bowlers Tops at Aotearoa National Maori Bowls Tournament

13 Feb 2015

The Aotearoa National Maori Bowls Tournament was held in Gisborne over the Waitangi Day long weekend. Attracting teams from across the country, the games were played under sunny skies on excellent greens.

Qualifying games were played on Saturday and the top teams carrying through to the championship play-offs on Sunday. Auckland bowlers were to the fore in both the Men’s and Women’s event, eventually taking out both titles. Winning teams were skipped by Aotearoa Bowls Board President Barry Aspin (final score 9-6), and Aotearoa Bowls Board Secretary Doreen Jensen (15-6)

This continues to be the major event for Maori Bowls and will be held next year in Wellington, and then Auckland in 2017.

Results were:
Aotearoa National Mens Champions: Skip - Barry Aspin, Tere Brunton, Johnny Mitchelland Jim Rota from Te Atatu - Tamaki Makaurau

Runners Up: Skip - Bruce Winterburn, Selwyn Prescott, Grant Winterburn and Graeme Tauri from Durie Hill - Wanganui

Aotearoa National Womens Champions: Skip - Doreen Jensen, Karen Hema, Chrissy Peers and Lavinia Ruka from Onehunga & Districts BC - Tamaki Makaurau

Runners Up: Skip - Gaylene Harvey, Holly McIlroy, Margaret Davies and Marilyn Bristowe - Papakura BC - Tamaki Makaurau

Our Sponsors and Funders