Ruaporo Wins Again

06 Oct 2014

Sourced from The Press 

Greg Ruaporo from the Glen Eden Club, a 2012 past winner and national development player was in a class of his own in winning the Burnside under-26 singles bowls tournament held at the Burnside club.

Playing immaculate draw bowls Ruaporo won his quarter and semifinal games easily 21-8, 21-8 and was far too consistent for his opponents.

In yesterday's final Ruoporo was steady throughout in beating Hamish Wilson from Nelson's United Club 21-7 and scored on 10 ends while Wilson managed 5 ends in a game that was one-sided. Ruaporo led 14-3 after nine ends before scoring a three on the 15th end to finish the contest.

Both played predominantly three-quarter ends with Ruaporo displaying a distinct edge in consistency with Wilson not being able to string several ends together.

Results: Quarter finals: Greg Ruaporo (Glen Eden, Auckland) 21 Nathan Glasson (Belfast, Canterbury) 8; Ray Martin (Victoria, Wellington) 21 Keanu Darby (Temuka) 17; Sheldon Bagrie-Howley (Gore) 21 Scott Evans (Onehunga, Auckland) 14; Hamish Wilson (United, Nelson) 21 Oliver Mason (Forbury Park, Dunedin) 11; Semi finals: Ruaporo 21 Martin 8; Wilson 21 Bagrie-Howley 12. Final: Ruaporo 21 Wilson 7.

Plate: Tim Toomey (Victoria, Wellington) 21 Callum Horwell (Kaikorai, Dunedin) 18; Ben Alsop-ten Hove (Leeston) 21 Katelyn Inch (Bowls Oxford) 15; Robbie Reed (Queenstown) 21 Monty Pawa (Glen Eden, Auckland) 18; Scott Mouton (Howick, Auckland) 21 Rory Soden (Glen Eden, Auckland) 10. Semi finals: Toomey 21 Alsop-ten Hove 6; Reed 21 Mouton 4. Final: Reed 21 Toomey 14.

Consolation 1 - Quarter finals: Elliot Mason (Forbury Park, Dunedin) 21 Chase Bishop (Blenheim) 14; Ethan Kelleher (Cobden, West Coast) 21 Talor Duncan (Carlton Cornwall, Auckland) 18; Richard Hocking (Taradale, Napier) 21 Trevor Burgess (Te Rangi, Invercargill) 18; Joseph Duncan (Otematata, North Otago) 21 Jeremy Brosnan (Glen Eden, Auckland) 4. Semi finals: Kelleher 21 Mason 16; Duncan 21 Hocking 20. Final: Kelleher 21 Duncan 11;

Consolation 2 - Quarter finals: Ali Choukry (Burnside) 21 Jonty Horwell (Kaikorai, Dunedin) 20; Liam Eathorne (Riccarton Racecourse) 21 Nicole Toomey (Victoria, Wellington) 8; Joshua Thompson (Burnside) 21 Brooke Craik (Fairfield, Dunedin) 15; James Haseman (Burnside 21 Luke Clark (Lincoln, Canterbury) 8. Semi finals: Eathorne 21 Choukry 19; Thompson 21 Haseman 15; Final: Thompson 21 Eathorne 13.

Our Sponsors and Funders