Auckland Awards Function a Success

15 Jun 2014

The Auckland Bowls Awards Function has one again been a huge success with over two hundred bowlers, family and friends watching winners receive their awards and applauding the recipients of the Special Awards today.

The Administrator of the Year went to Noeline McNabb of St George Bowling Club.  Noeline has been the treasurer of the club for six years and has also stepped into the secretary’s role when the incumbent had ongoing health issues.  Noeline sees to all the running of the club and is also responsible for the hiring of the hall for social functions. She meets and greets most of the social groups using the club and she is also a nifty bowler, winning the champion pairs and triples at the club this year.

The other finalist for the Administrator of the Year was Helen Blick of Kohimarama.

The Official of the Year was jointly won by Joy Baughan, Howick Women’s, and Les Smith, Mangere Bowling Club. 

Both Joy and Les have convened Auckland Bowls events this year, which includes acting as Chief Umpire for those events, and both have umpired at other Auckland events including The Trusts New Zealand Open.  Both Les and Joy umpired at the Kittyhawk National Under 20 Singles and the Region 1 Development Intercentre in March. Both were appointed to officiate at the World Champion of Champion Singles in Christchurch 2013 which was a first ITO appointment for both.  They both command huge respect from their peers and are worthy winners of the Official of the Year.

The Personality of the Year was taken out by Nick Krajancic of Carlton Cornwall Bowls.  Nick is held in very high esteem by the club members. He has been a member of club for 25 years, serving as selector, President, greens superintendent and also a member of the Board of Management. Instrumental in finding a new home for Carlton, Nick is a great role model and can turn his hand to anything both on and off the greens.  While a very competitive bowler himself, Nick is also a gentle man with great people skills and is a significant contributor to the club. Nick is a huge supporter of club players at all Auckland events and is usually seen at all post section events when not playing himself.

Other finalists for this award were Jenny Smith, Kohimarama, and also Jenny Jones, Pt Chevalier.

The Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year is Janice Paap of Carlton Cornwall. Janice has  been the High Performance & Youth Coach for Auckland and also the New Zealand Under 18 Coach. She is a performance coach at regional level to up skill players and also personal coach to Katelyn Inch, Ashleigh Jeffcoat and also newly named Black jack Selina Goddard. This year Janice received the High Performance Coaching Certificate, one of only two coaches in New Zealand to gain this standing.  As Women’s Development Coach her side also won the Region 1 Intercentre .

Other finalists in this category were Howard Sandler, Auckland Bowling Club, Claire Lines, Mt Eden, Nathaneal Lucas Mt Eden and John Mitchell , Te Atatu Peninsula.

Selina Goddard has once again taken out the Young Bowler of the Year category. Selina has selected in March as a NZ Under 25 rep,  and a member of the side that won the Trans Tasman Trophy.  The National Open Championships in Dunedin were a particular high point for Selina this year as she won the Women’s Fours and reached the semi finals in the Women’s Pairs.  She also reached the semi finals of the Kittyhawks Under 20 Singles. Selina represented the Auckland Under 25 Side against Queensland in December 2013 and was selected as a Black Jack for Commonwealth Games 2014. Congratulations to Selina on an outstanding year.

Also finalists for this award were Rory Soden, Carlton Cornwall, Scott Mouton , Howick, Mackenzie Blucher and Alzeena Levi  both of Te Atatu Peninsula. 

Carlton Cornwall Women’s National Interclub Division 1 side were named as the Team of the Year. The side scored good wins in the Auckland playoffs in January, the regional playoffs in March and also the National Finals in March. A well drilled side, the competition was all sewn up with a round to spare!

Other finalists in thi98s category were Karen de Jongh, Judi Wong and Bev Crowe of Carlton Cornwall for the Auckland Women’s Triples, Chris Lowe, Gregory Ruaporo and Peter Thorne as winners of the Auckland Men’s Triples for the third consecutive year, Gary Cotton and Mark Hall, Mangere, for winning their way to the National Finals of the Men’s Pairs, Scott Mouton and Linda Ralph who will be taking their place in the National Final of the 2-4-2 Mixed Pairs in June and the Auckland Women’s Development Side who won the Regional Development League in March.

Volunteer of the Year has been taken out by husband and wife, Pat and Merle Fairweather, from Te Atatu Peninsula.  They have been active members of the Club for over 20 years and assist in all aspects of the clubs running.  As a self employed tradesman, Pat’s services are constantly in demand in the club and Merle’s green fingers and baking capabilities are utilized on many occasions.

Also nominated for this award were Noel Aitken of Carlton Cornwall and Merv Allaway of Pt Chevalier.

Club of the Year was presented to St Heliers Bowling Club. St Heliers celebrated their centennial this year with strong heart, committed administration and very keen bowlers.  They continue to run a very strong business House League and this year won the Auckland finals in both categories.  Gaining new members has been a priority with a social bowls twilight event being run on Thursday evenings. Success of their members on the bowling green has been equalled by their support of the Winter Coaching Programme and the strong numbers of coaches and umpires which the club can boast.  A hugely successful fund raising day was held for the club member who has been selected for the Para Sport Mixed Pairs at the Commonwealth Games.  Members of the club gave huge support to the venture- the St Heliers Club Spirit is alive and well!

The other finalist in this award was Carlton Cornwall Bowls.

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists for these prestigious Awards.

Our Sponsors and Funders