De Jongh claims tenth Auckland centre title

13 Apr 2014

Karen de Jongh has continued her great year, adding the Champion of Champion Triples to her scalps for the year and also has claimed her gold star for ten center titles.

Carlton Cornwall made short work of Hillsboro Women's in the semi final winning 21 -4 after only 16 ends of the scheduled 18 ends had been completed. 

Glendowie was also playing Henderon in their semi final and while they started off well Henderson soon had a good grasp of the game. By the 11th end Henderson had an15-8 lead and while Glendowie fought back and claimed five of the final ends they were only able to wrest back one shot at a time. The final score was 18-13 to Henderson. 

The final was also a one way street for Carlton Cornwall where again they only completed 16 of the ends and had a 23-9 advantage.

Congratulations to Karen de Jongh, Judi Wong and Bev Crowe for their win and in particular to Karen on her second gold star.

In the Men's quarterfinals played today Pt Chevalier overcame Te Atatu Peninsula 19-15 and  Hillsboro overcame Carlton Cornwall 19-16.

The very strong Hillsboro side of Chris Lowe, Jordan King and Peter Thorne then beat Pt Chevalier 20-6 with only 13 ends played. 

Onehunga and Blockhouse Bay was a good tussle with Onehunga taking first blood and by the ninth end having a 11-4 lead. Blockhouse Bay then claimed the next six ends to be 12-11 up and then lead into the final end by three shots. 

Onehunga were holding two shots when the skips crossed over, but a run from Peter Hurle from Blockhouse Bay gave them two shots and Onehunga's skip, Scott Evans, could not claim the shots back. In the end Blockhouse Bay took the game 18-13. 

Blockhouse Bay started the final well but Hillsboro soon hit their straps and by the thirteen end had a 15-7 advantage.

The 14th end was a battle with each side coming in and sitting on the shots of the other side but it was Hillsboro who once again won the battle and took another shot. 

The final score was 17-9 to Hillsboro so congratulations to Chris Lowe, Jordan King and Peter Thorne on their title.

For fill results click here.

Our Sponsors and Funders