Delany and Girvan back in Black

20 Jan 2014

Dan Delany and Richard Girvan (Onehunga) have once again been selected in the Black Jacks side to take on Australia in the Trans Tasman event to be held in Australia in March.

Auckland is also represented in the age group sides that will play at the same time as the senior squad.  Selina Goddard (Carlton Cornwall) fresh from success at the National Open Championships has been selected in the Development Women's squad and Greg Ruaporo (Hillsboro) retains his place in the Development Men's side.

McKenzie Blucher (Te Atatu) and Talor Duncan (Carlton Cornwall) will feature in the Under 18 squad following trials held in Auckland last week.  This squad is coached by Auckland's Howard Sandler and Janice Paap.


Article below from Bowls NZ -

The Bowls New Zealand selectors have today announced their three teams to take on Australia in the annual Trans-Tasman contest in March. The New Zealand Para Sport Bowls Team will join them for this year’s event which is in Victoria Australia at the Traralgon Bowling Club. A contest, that for all concerned, will take on added importance with the July Glasgow Commonwealth Games teams to be announced immediately after the event.

Blackjacks Women

Singles: Jo Edwards

Pairs: Val Smith, Jo Edwards (S)

Triples: Amy McIlroy, Lisa White, Mandy Boyd (S)

Fours: Amy McIlroy, Lisa White, Val Smith, Mandy Boyd (S)

Blackjacks Men

Singles: Shannon McIlroy

Pairs: Dan Delany, Richard Girvan (S)

Triples: Tony Grantham, Shannon McIlroy, Ali Forsyth (S)

Fours: Tony Grantham, Dan Delany, Richard Girvan, Ali Forsyth (S)

Development Women

Singles: Kirsten Griffin

Pairs: Selina Goddard, Sheryl Pearce (S)

Triples: Tayla Bruce, Kirsten Griffin, Angela Boyd (S)

Fours: Selina Goddard, Tayla Bruce, Angela Boyd, Sheryl Pearce (S)

Development Men

Singles: Blake Signal

Pairs: Greg Ruaporo, Blake Signal (S)

Triples: James Pugh, Raymond Martin, Mark Watt (S)

Fours: Greg Ruaporo, James Pugh, Raymond Martin, Mark Watt (S)

Under 18 Women

Singles: Katelyn Inch

Pairs: Cait Bassett, Katelyn Inch (S)

Triples: McKenzie Blucher, Ashleigh Jeffcoat, Sophie Fisher (S)

Fours: McKenzie Blucher, Ashleigh Jeffcoat, Cait Bassett, Sophie Fisher (S)

Under 18 Men

Singles: Keanu Darby

Pairs: Richard Hocking, Keanu Darby (S)

Triples: Jesse Russell, Talor Duncan, Cameron Bailey (S)

Fours: Jesse Russell, Talor Duncan, Richard Hocking, Cameron Bailey (S)

Dave Edwards the National Coach and Selector commented “that as selectors we have had a very tough job in finalising all these teams for our annual clash with the Aussies. The exciting and also challenging part of the process was who to leave out! Such is the depth we are now starting to see at all levels of the game here in NZ. As always there are some desperately unlucky players, however as a selection panel we are confident we have selected teams that will give the Aussie a real run for their money.” Australia currently hold the trophy after winning all but the Under 18 Men’s event last year in Howick.

The Blackjacks Women’s team is notable for the debut of Amy McIlroy from Nelson. Fresh from being part of the winning fours team at the Heartland Bank National Championships in Dunedin McIlroy (22) will lead both the Triples and Fours.

This year these teams will be joined by the New Zealand Para Sport Bowls Side. Announced back in December this team will also use the Trans-Tasman as a warm up for July’s Commonwealth Games. The Para Sport Bowls team travelling to Australia is;

Para Sport Bowls Mixed Pairs 

David Stallard,   Director, Peter Blick

Sue Curren,   Director, Christine Foster

Para Sport Bowls Open Triples

Linda Bennett - Lead

Barry Wynks – Second

Mark Noble – Skip

Dave Edwards commented “that all four teams have a lot to play for. Winning the Trans-Tasman Trophy would be the perfect first step in ensuring we go to Glasgow knowing that our medal chances are both realistic and achievable. Australia will have the same expectations so it will be a tremendous event".

Our Sponsors and Funders