10 from 12 for Auckland

30 Sep 2013

The Zone One Secondary School Championship were held over the weekend at Onerahi Bowling Club in Whangerei.  Auckland sent a young squad made up of mainly 9 & 10 year players.  The side competed in one of four disciplines either girls singles or pairs or boys singles or pairs.  Great bowls were played by everyone and it was a fantastic weekend on and off the green.

Results wise Auckland ended up with 10 players qualifying for the Secondary School nationals.

In the Girls singles Antonia Victor (St Dominic’s College) and Kate Cassidy (St Dominic’s College) were winners and runner up losing one game and two games respectively to take out the section.  Kate and Antonia played each other in the final round with Antonia coming out on top by four shots.

The Girls pairs was an Auckland/St Dominic’s affair with Mackenzie Blucher and Alex Greer leading the way with Emily Fry and Tiger Wills dropping only one game.  Mackenzie and Alex won the section with a larger net total of shots.

The Boys pairs was dominated by Alex Edwards and Aiden Takarua (St Peter’s College) winning all their games in fine style with a massive net total of shots. Closely followed by the Liam van Rijn and Braden Sibly (Lynfield College) making it a 1-2 for Auckland.

The Boys Singles was won by Clayton Hockley (North Harbour / Takapuna Grammar) and Ashton Pattenden (Nothland / Kamo High School) with Michael Westerby (Auckland Grammar) finishing in third place.

The squad of 12 players and management will head to Wellington in early December to contest the National Secondary School Finals.

Zone One Qualifiers:

Girls Singles: Antonia Victor (St Dominic’s College); Kat Cassidy (St Dominic’s College)

Girls Pairs:  Mackenzie Blucher & Alex Greer (St Dominic’s College); Emily Fly & Tiger Wills (St Dominic’s College)

Boys Pairs:  Alex Edwards & Aiden Takarua (St Peter’s College); Braden Sibly & Liam van Rijn (Lynfield College)

Boys Singles:  Clayton Hockley (Takapuna Grammar); Ashton Pattenden (Kamo High School)

Congratulations to all the players and management.

Our Sponsors and Funders