Auckland Representative Squads Announced

16 Aug 2013

Auckland Bowls is pleased to announce the initial Open Men’s and Women’s Representative Squads for 2013-2014.  Whilst both squads remain relatively similar to last season there are a few notable names missing.

In comparison to the men’s squad from last season, Tony Grantham, Scott Cottrell and Chris Lowe have made themselves unavailable for selection.  New players introduced for the first time are Rory Soden, Patrick Stanaway, Chris MacDonald, Alan Oliver, Junior Ngavaevae, Luca Mataora and Daniel King.  It is good to see that many of these players have graduated from the Auckland 1-5 year squad.  Tom Delany returns to the squad after not being available for selection last season.

Into the women’s squad come Sonya Bamber, Irene Manning, Helen van Der Walt, Liz Badenhorst, Louise Goyne, Aggie Motu, Paula Kempthorne, Jenny Stockford, and Robyn Reihana. Auckland Young Bowler of the Year Selina Goddard is spending most of her time in Australia at the moment and has not been considered for selection.  Rima Strickland and Liz Teiti made themselves unavailable for selection this season.

Both squads will get together for a training day on Saturday 31st August.  The first fixture of the season will be the battle of the bridge against North Harbour on the 6th October.

The Auckland 1-5 year squads will be announce at a later date following trails in early September.

Auckland Representative Squads

Open Women: Olivia Bloomfield, Estelle Hickey, Emma Waerehu, Karen Hema, Rae Hammond, Colleen Pert, Sue Curran, Helen van Der Walt, Liz Badenhorst, Sonya Bamber, Linda Ralph, Aggie Motu, Paula Kempthorne, Jenny Stockford, Robyn Reihana, Tere Tuaiti, Irene Manning & Louise Goyne.  Coaches:  Janice Paap, Grant Hema. Manager: Irene Goddard.

Open Men: Dan Delany, Tom Delany, Chris Lievre, Scott Evans, Adam Wishnoski, Joe Whitelaw, Ciaran MacElvanna, Scott Mouton, James Gavin, Rory Soden, Patrick Stanaway, Jordan King, Chris MacDonald, Alan Oliver, Junior Ngavaevae, Greg Ruaporo, Luca Mataora, Mike Bradshaw, David Ross & Daniel King.  Coaches: Howard Sandler, Steve Clifton.  Manager:  Leigh Cutler.

Congratulations to all those selected.

Our Sponsors and Funders